The Americana Music Association℠ Announces 16th Annual Honors & Awards Show Performers and Members of All-Star Band |

Join Our List

The Americana Music Association℠ Announces 16th Annual Honors & Awards Show Performers and Members of All-Star Band

The Americana Music Association℠ Announces 16th Annual Honors & Awards Show Performers and Members of All-Star Band

// 8.28.17

The Americana Music Association Announces its 

16th Annual Honors & Awards Show Performers and 

Members of This Year’s All-Star Band

The show The New York Times says reflects a "spirit of eclecticism" will stream live on NPR and Tape for Broadcast by PBS

Additional live audio broadcasts confirmed on SiriusXM’s Outlaw Country, WRLT, WSM and WMOT


NASHVILLE, Tenn. (Aug. 28, 2017) — The Americana Music Association℠ announced today that Jim Lauderdale and Buddy Miller will return to host and musically direct, respectively, the 16th annual Americana Honors & Awards ceremony. This year’s program will showcase a vibrant mix of musical icons and electrifying newcomers that will make the list of performers and presenters for the critically acclaimed program scheduled for 6:30 PM/CT Wednesday, September 13 at Nashville’s famed Ryman Auditorium.

Legends and longtime fan-favorites line up alongside present-day buzz generators including Van Morrison, Graham Nash, John Prine, Rodney Crowell, Robert Cray & Hi Rhythm, Iris DeMent, Marty Stuart and His Fabulous Superlatives, the Drive-By Truckers, Billy Bragg & Joe Henry, Old Crow Medicine Show and Lori McKenna along with The Lumineers, Jason Isbell, Margo Price, Rhiannon Giddens, Hurray for the Riff Raff, Brent Cobb, Aaron Lee Tasjan, Sam Outlaw and Amanda Shires as confirmed performers for the Honors & Awards show. The ceremony is the capstone event for the 18th annual AMERICANAFEST℠: The Americana Music Festival & Conference, held at various venues throughout Nashville.

(See below for an alphabetized list of confirmed performers.)

Returning for the 15th consecutive year, singer-songwriter and Americana Wagonmaster Award recipient Jim Lauderdale will preside as host over the festivities, while Americana’s most-awarded artist, songwriter, musician and producer Buddy Miller takes the reins of musical direction of the Americana All-Star Band featuring Larry Campbell, Robbie Crowell, Jim Hoke, Jerry Pentecost, Chris Wood and the incredible McCrary Sisters.

A live video stream of the 2017 Honors & Awards show will be webcast via The video stream is presented in partnership with VuHaus and NPR. Television series Austin City Limits will capture performance highlights from the show for a special broadcast to air November 18 on PBS.

“Year in and year out, the artists make this event special,” said Jed Hilly, Executive Director of the Americana Music Association℠ adding, “it’s an honor to produce this event with the best team in the biz, Michelle Aquilato, Martin Fischer (Talented Two Cats) and Terry Lickona (Austin City Limits).”

In addition to the annual “Of the Year” awards presented during the program, the 2017 Honors & Awards Show will include this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award honorees: Cray, DeMent, the Hi Rhythm section, Morrison, Nash and HighTone Records Founders Larry Sloven and Bruce Bromberg.

A live audio simulcast of the Honors & Awards show will also be available via SiriusXM’s Outlaw Country, and on Nashville area terrestrial radio stations: WRLT (100.1 FM), WSM (650 AM) and WMOT (89.5 FM).

Confirmed performers for the 2017 Americana Honors & Awards, in alphabetical order:

Billy Bragg

Brent Cobb

Robert Cray & Hi Rhythm

Rodney Crowell

Iris DeMent

Drive-By Truckers

Rhiannon Giddens

Joe Henry

Hurray for the Riff Raff

Jason Isbell

The Lumineers

Lori McKenna

Van Morrison

Graham Nash

Old Crow Medicine Show

Sam Outlaw

Margo Price

John Prine

Amanda Shires

Marty Stuart and His Fabulous Superlatives

Aaron Lee Tasjan

Tickets for the 16th annual Americana Honors & Awards are made available for purchase with an AMERICANAFEST℠ conference registration, which can be bought here. The award show is the association's hallmark event, taking place during the week of AMERICANAFEST℠: The Americana Music Festival & Conference, September 12-17, 2017 in Nashville, TN.


About AMERICANAFEST: The Americana Music Festival & Conference

The 18th Annual AMERICANAFEST℠ will take place Sept. 12-17, 2017. The event will once again bring together fans and music industry professionals alike, offering six days of celebration through seminars, panels and networking opportunities by day and raw artist showcases by night. The 16th annual Americana Honors & Awards Show is the hallmark event of the week's festivities and will take place at the historic Ryman Auditorium on Sept. 13. For the 2017 Americana Honors & Awards Spotify playlist, visit

About the Americana Music Association

The Americana Music Association℠ is a professional not-for-profit trade organization whose mission is to advocate for the authentic voice of American roots music around the world. The association produces events throughout the year; including AMERICANAFEST℠: The Americana Music Festival & Conference, and the critically acclaimed Americana Honors & Awards program. The Americana Music Association℠ receives enormous support from the Tennessee Department of Tourism, Nashville Convention & Visitors Corporation, Epiphone, Lagunitas Brewing Company, Music City Networks, ASCAP, BMI, and SESAC. For more information and ticketing, visit

For more information on the Americana Music Association℠ and to become a member, please visit, or follow on FacebookTwitter and Instagram.

For more information please contact Jackie Marushka:

615-417-6500 or,